When George Fernandez was not convinced about nuclear safety

Today is the birth anniversary of Shri George Fernandez, veteran trade union leader, politician and MP. He held many ministerial portfolios including industry, communications, railways, and defence. The President of India conferred Padma Vibhushan, on him posthumously. He would have been 90 years of age today. He had a love-hate relationship with the Department of Atomic Energy. I have not interacted with him personally. The virtual interaction I had with him taught me a few lessons in communication. Successful communication demands mutual trust, opportunity for dialogue devoid of jargon and prejudice. We need such an ambiance for the success of any program where perceived risk is much more than the real risk. I wrote an article today in memory of Shri George Fernandez. “Though in Mumbai he earned the sobriquet, “bundh-master”, his contributions to the nation are so vast and varied that it is impossible to ignore them.” I concluded. I request you to read the article in its entirety including the contents of the hyperlinks.

The link:https://www.eurasiareview.com/03062020-when-george-fernandes-was-not-convinced-about-nuclear-safety-oped/

About ksparthasarathy

I am a former Secretary of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. I am a former Raja Ramanna Fellow in the Department of Atomic Energy. Free lance journalism is my hobby
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment