My advice to Rahul Gandhi

 

Ms Niharika Mandhana, India Ink Blogger at the New York Times used a clever  method to advise  Shri Rahul Gandhi as soon as he assumed charge as the Vice President of  the  Indian National Congress (The NYT, January 25, 2013).

She chose a few from the  image making industry and Shri Ramachandra Guha who has opinion on anything and everything and occasionally on topics he is not conversant with. She reproduced their opinions and suggestions.

My approach was more original. I  offered my advice  through the readers’ comments of the NYT.

Am I competent to advise him? Yes I thought. I belonged to his father’s generation. I saw how young people rose in politics.

I had observed some budding politicians closely. Two of them Shri A K Antony and Shri Vayalar Ravi , presently Cabinet Ministers,  were very popular. Former was my  junior   and the latter, my classmate in Maharajas College Ernakulam. Ravi’s mother was an MLA. Rahul can check with them of the part they played  in  the ” Orana Samaram(One anna agitation)”, an agitation of students in Ernakulam colleges against an  increase in boat fare.

Knowing my proclivity to making speeches, my father extracted a promise from me that I shall never enter into any political activity. The noisy  atmosphere in the college during the beginning of the year was  enough to unnerve any parent  with a  middle class background. So I decided to study well and go for work soon after my post graduation.

I spent 50 years of  my life  specializing in ensuring safety in  nuclear technology and radiation applications. I had very brief encounters with some outstanding political leaders. I briefed the ministers of science and technology attached to the Prime Minister’s office  during 1987-2004 while I was the secretary of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. They were  sharp,  intelligent and extremely courteous. Referring to more details may not be proper.

Coming back to my advice to Rahul. First point first;

On October 11, 2013 I tweeted:

” Rahul, either you grow a beard or be clean shaven; be consistent; it matters. Your indifference will hurt you. The latest outburst did not! ”

My generation believed  that bearded  persons are rebels. Why should you take the risk?  It may be disturbing, at least to some, to see an erratic behaviour.

“Rahul may not be media savvy…….. Rahul need not listen to free advice,  fair or foul. He can prove himself by being spontaneous and sincere.”  I  wrote in my comments published in the New York Times.

His latest action against possibly the most unpopular ordinance revealed that unknown to him he is following my advice! He was spontaneous, sincere and impatient .I have seen Shri Rajiv Gandhi  closely only on one occasion. At one stage he lost his cool. May be I shall  write about it on another occasion

“There is renewed awareness among the electorate. Young  persons … will have a tough time to get wider acceptability. It applies to any political party.” I added  in my NYT comments

I assured  Rahul  that his connection with Nehru family need not be a burden. He has himself articulated the advantage he received because of his lineage. “He must assemble a good team of young progressive workers around him. This team must be able to break with the past. Slowly and steadily.” I suggested

“Emergence of youth is visible in every political party. They may find it hard to survive the machinations of seasoned old politicians.” I cautioned.

Survive they must:. to provide India what its constitution ordained

JUSTICE, social, economic and political;
LIBERTY of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship;
EQUALITY of status and of opportunity;
and to promote among them all
FRATERNITY assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the Nation;

About ksparthasarathy

I am a former Secretary of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. I am a former Raja Ramanna Fellow in the Department of Atomic Energy. Free lance journalism is my hobby
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

