Some educational institutions plagiarize from day one

Some educational institutions plagiarize from day one

I came across the following sentence in the introductory statements of several educational institutions in India.

We strive to reach out to the star of perfection through an earnest academic pursuit for excellence and our efforts blossom into ‘service’ through our creative and empathetic involvement in the society to transform it.

I also noticed that a few institutions used the same phrases with minor modifications.

The inverted commas used with the word service attracted my attention.I thought it is wrong to use quotation marks like that. If quotation marks are used that way, it may mean that the word is used with a nonstandard meaning.

If some one writes that he and his ‘wife’ booked a room in the hotel. It may mean that the person who stayed with him in the room was not his wife! If he thought that it is a way to give importance to his wife he is terribly wrong.

Coming back to the earlier discussion. I did a google search with the entire sentence enclosed in quotation marks. I found that this sentence is used in the introduction of virtually dozens of educational institutions. In 193 places, when I checked the sentence at 8.45 PM on March 17, 2013. Probably the sentence was first used by Christ University Bangalore. Others copied it. Is it not a clear case of plagiarism?

Can some one explain to me how it came about? It is not a very pleasant job to ask every institution to get at the truth. However, I would like every reader to follow this up and give me useful feedback if any. My email ID is ksparth@gmail.com

About ksparthasarathy

I am a former Secretary of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. I am a former Raja Ramanna Fellow in the Department of Atomic Energy. Free lance journalism is my hobby
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

