Is work in a nuclear power plant risky?

Is work in a nuclear power plant risky?

A 24 year old who is about to join the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) as a scientific officer, is troubled by what he saw on a TV channel. He is unmarried; his parents are worried about the alleged damage to DNA by radiation. I assured him that there is no such harm. TV channels often go overboard and make unsubstantiated claims.

I faced a similar difficulty 50 years ago. My father’s friend  tried to convince him that work in the Department of Atomic Energy is risky; he advised my father against allowing me to join the training school of erstwhile  Atomic Energy Establishment Trombay (AEET). My father’s friend  was serving the Central Government then. Fortunately his words did not count! I never regretted joining the Department of Atomic Energy.

Please read the article at:

http://www.tribuneindia.com/2010/20100212/science.htm#1

About ksparthasarathy

I am a former Secretary of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. I am a former Raja Ramanna Fellow in the Department of Atomic Energy. Free lance journalism is my hobby
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

